## State Regulation of Public Utilities Review Committee

Sen. Thomas C. Alexander, Chairman

Rep. William E. Sandifer, III, Vice Chairman

Elizabeth H. Atwater, Esquire

Erik H. Ebersole

Rep. P. Michael Forrester

Sen. C. Bradley Hutto

Rep. Harry L. Ott, Jr.

Sen. Luke A. Rankin, Sr.

John Steven Simmons, Esquire

Helen T. Zeigler, Esquire



Heather Anderson Chief Counsel Andy Fiffick Committee Counsel

Post Office Box 142 Columbia, South Carolina 29202 (803) 212-6208

## IMMEDIATE RELEASE

September 21, 2012

The State Regulation of Public Utilities Review Committee is beginning its screening process for Seats 1, 3, 5, and 7 of the South Carolina Public Service Commission. The State Regulation of Public Utilities Review Committee will be accepting applications for Seats 1, 3, 5, and 7 beginning Monday, October 22<sup>nd</sup>, until 5:00 p.m., Monday, November 5<sup>th</sup>. The Public Service Commission has jurisdiction over matters pertaining to investor-owned electric and gas utilities, water and wastewater companies, telecommunications companies, carriers of household goods and hazardous waste for disposal, taxicabs, and other motor vehicle passenger carriers. A commissioner must have at least a baccalaureate degree. It is preferred that a commissioner have a background of substantial duration in one of the following areas: (a) energy; (b) telecommunications; (c) consumer protection and advocacy; (d) water and wastewater; (e) finance, economics, and statistics; (f) accounting; (g) engineering; or (h) law.

The commission is composed of seven commissioners, one from each of the seven

Congressional districts. The Commissioner for the First Public Service Commission District represents those portions of Beaufort, Berkeley, Charleston, Colleton, and Dorchester counties within the First Congressional District. The Commissioner for the Third Public Service Commission District represents those portions of Abbeville, Anderson, Edgefield, Greenville, Greenwood, Laurens, McCormick, Newberry, Oconee, Pickens, and Saluda counties within the Third Congressional District. The Commissioner for the Fifth Public Service Commission District represents those portions of Cherokee, Chester, Fairfield, Kershaw, Lancaster, Lee, Newberry, Spartanburg, Sumter, Union, and York counties within the Fifth Congressional District. The Commissioner for the Seventh Public Service Commission District represents those portions of Chesterfield, Darlington, Dillon, Florence, Georgetown, Horry, Marion, and Marlboro counties within the Seventh Congressional District. Salary for these positions is \$102,382 annually.

Application forms may be obtained from the State Regulation of Public Utilities Review Committee, 102 Gressette Building, Post Office Box 142, Columbia, South Carolina 29202, by contacting Heather Anderson, (803) 212-6208 or <a href="heather anderson@scsenate.gov">heather anderson@scsenate.gov</a>, or by contacting Sharon Scholl, (803) 212-6627 or <a href="heather anderson@scsenate.gov">sharonscholl@scsenate.gov</a>. Each candidate is required to submit a completed application form no later than the November 5<sup>th</sup> deadline.

Following the Monday, November 5<sup>th</sup> filing deadline, the Review Committee will begin its background investigation of candidates. The first public hearing to review each candidate's qualifications is tentatively scheduled to begin in late January or early February in 2013. Candidates and potential candidates are subject to certain restrictions with respect to contacting members of the General Assembly. Persons interested in becoming candidates should obtain information explaining the restrictions by contacting Heather Anderson at (803) 212-6208 or heatheranderson@scsenate.gov, or Sharon Scholl at (803) 212-6627 or

## sharonscholl@scsenate.gov.

Applications will not be accepted after 5:00 p.m. on Monday, November 5, 2012. For further information, contact Heather Anderson at (803) 212-6208 or Sharon Scholl at (803) 212-6627.